Defining Moments of My Life
Busy day

**REGISTER TO VOTE ONLINE!** **SIGN DARFUR ACTION PETITION HERE!!**




Busy day
01.10.03 12:12 p.m.

Last night I went to my first NA meeting in Houston. I haven't been to a meeting since... summer? Anyway it was before I got clean. I have a problem with meeting people to party with in NA. That's how I met a few drug buddies back in Ohio. Also at a meeting while I was in rehab in NY someone mentioned a specific corner in Rochester where one could buy H from their car. One of the things I like about Houston is not knowing where I could find it.... The group I went to last night, actually the second group... the first meeting I showed up at on the westside was just ending. The Houston NA page said they started at 9:30, that's what I get for trusting the internet! I liked the people there more than the people at the second meeting I went to. I kept getting hit on there. I don't handle attention from men very well... especially when it comes from old men, old crackhead men.... Good to know I'm a hottie to the crackheads! Anyway I don't really follow the steps exactly. 12 step programs are hard for atheists to follow. Seven of the steps are about God! OK some of the literature is a bit more "PC", they'll use "Higher Power" or in italics after the word God: "as we understand Him", same fucken thing to me. My first time around in the program I said my potential was my higher power. It sorta works. Realistically coffee is my higher power.... So I don't really follow the steps, I mainly go for entertainment purposes, socializing. I signed up to read my poetry at the Houston area NA talent show coming up. I want to look into a bowling league. I need things to do....

Yesterday (thanks to two pots of my higher power!) I cleaned three out of the four rooms of the apartment. I mean CLEANED!! I've never cleaned like this before. It was almost obsessive. My back and knees are sore today, and were hurting very badly last night, so I know I over did it. Organized all of Eric's guitar stuff. Lucky for me that I'm a Master-Untangler... swear he's got about 20 different cables and 10 power adapters, they were all in one big pile along with various pedals and crap. I switched the living room furniture around so that there's more open space. Vacuumed three times. Swept and mopped the kitchen and bathroom after I figured out how to put the shitty Clorox Mop-in-a-box thingy together.... Scrubbed the counters and the stove and the burners etc. We can now see the wood of the coffeetable. Did a couple loads of laundry. Made three trips to the dumpster (tossed out the bedframe). Scrubbed the bathroom counter and sink, washed out the kitty's litter pan. I nailed some picture frame hangers into the wall near the door and hung up all our coats n hats. I made a cd of the favorite songs from the new cd's I got from Eric. Took a long shower. Made tuna melt sandwiches and tomato soup for dinner. Watched the last half of Jay & Silent Bob before I left for the "9:30" meeting. There's a meeting tonight where I guess they have open mic comedy. I don't know about you but addicts/ex crackheads are DAMN funny to me. Once a month before the saturday meeting there's a potluck dinner.... I got places to go these days.


Always remember to quit while you're ahead.

last :: next
About Me
I am a bipolar genius, child abuse & addiction survivor, who is now a single mother who works 70 hours a week and has had gastric-bypass weight loss surgery a year ago. Wish me luck cuz I need it!!!

Examples of My Insanity
Dead On Mental Health Quiz
Tuna Noodle Casserole Story
Explaining Myselves
Biting Off Redneck's Finger
Got So Crazy Scratched Til I Bled
How I Found Nirvana
Leaving Lon After 7 Years
Bad Luck On 3 July 4ths
Random Craziness (FBI Please Disregard)
How I Ended Up A Junky
Almost Getting Raped by a Marine
Typical Weekend in Ohio
How Cobain Saved My Life


How long could we maintain? I wondered. How long until one of us starts raving and jabbering at this boy? What will he think then? This same lonely desert was the last known home of the Manson family; will he make that grim connection when my attorney starts screaming about bats and huge manta rays coming down on the car? If so, well, we'll just have to cut his head off and bury him somewhere, 'cause it goes without saying that we can't turn him loose. He'd report us at once to some kind of outback Nazi law enforcement agency and they'll run us down like dogs. Jesus, did I say that? Or just think it? Was I talking? Did they hear me?


AFTER


WHAT'S MY NAME?!?