Defining Moments of My Life
a Nirvana moment

**REGISTER TO VOTE ONLINE!** **SIGN DARFUR ACTION PETITION HERE!!**




a Nirvana moment
o6.o5.o2 12:06 a.m.

in tenth grade (92) I had nothing better to do than ride around in an old Mustang, listening to the rock n roll station, playing CB tag with people in another car. CB tag is like playing hide-n-seek in cars. You hide your car and then whoever's it asks questions in a "20 Questions" kind of way and they try to find you. "Are you north of the river" etc... so ok yeah it's a stoner game, and it's small-town Ohio I didn't have many options. This is when I was first drinking and smoking weed on a regular basis. But the weed was ditch and the booze was Strawberry Hill.... anyway on this particular night there was really good music on the radio. It was 92 so there were actually good bands around. I usually can't listen to two songs in a row on the radio and even though there are stations I listen to the most, my favorite station is the one that's playing the better (or least worst) song at the time.... But this night was Soundgarden and STP and Alice and Chains... and Nirvana comes on at the climax of the night. And like so many times when I hear Nirvana, time seemed to stop, I was removed from the situation, a total understanding kicks me in the head and everyone else is just singing along, but their words are wrong and then the chorus comes and I've heard this song at least a million times and I've understood it but this time THIS TIME it's like Kurt's talking right to me, pointing out the situation I was in RIGHT THEN and the chorus hits ME "he's the one who likes all our pretty songs and he likes to sing along and he likes to shoot his gun but he knows not what it means and I say neeuuuh!" and this enlightenment hits me, that Kurt's exactly right and I'm in this car with a bunch of inbred dipshits wasting gas and time, but I hate my mom and spend as much time as I can not being at the house when she's there, and here we are, and here I am, and here they are singing along but not getting it right, not getting IT at all... and I lean back in the back seat and smile, yes I get it Kurt, I GET IT man.


Always remember to quit while you're ahead.

last :: next
About Me
I am a bipolar genius, child abuse & addiction survivor, who is now a single mother who works 70 hours a week and has had gastric-bypass weight loss surgery a year ago. Wish me luck cuz I need it!!!

Examples of My Insanity
Dead On Mental Health Quiz
Tuna Noodle Casserole Story
Explaining Myselves
Biting Off Redneck's Finger
Got So Crazy Scratched Til I Bled
How I Found Nirvana
Leaving Lon After 7 Years
Bad Luck On 3 July 4ths
Random Craziness (FBI Please Disregard)
How I Ended Up A Junky
Almost Getting Raped by a Marine
Typical Weekend in Ohio
How Cobain Saved My Life


How long could we maintain? I wondered. How long until one of us starts raving and jabbering at this boy? What will he think then? This same lonely desert was the last known home of the Manson family; will he make that grim connection when my attorney starts screaming about bats and huge manta rays coming down on the car? If so, well, we'll just have to cut his head off and bury him somewhere, 'cause it goes without saying that we can't turn him loose. He'd report us at once to some kind of outback Nazi law enforcement agency and they'll run us down like dogs. Jesus, did I say that? Or just think it? Was I talking? Did they hear me?


AFTER


WHAT'S MY NAME?!?