Defining Moments of My Life
the best song in the world, this is just a tribute

**REGISTER TO VOTE ONLINE!** **SIGN DARFUR ACTION PETITION HERE!!**




the best song in the world, this is just a tribute
08.30.02 11:38 p.m.

To snuff the boredom of near-constant mania, I come up with lists in my head sorta like the guys do in High Fidelity. So I was thinking about this at work today: What are my five favorite songs? My favorite songs have had impact on my life, besides being just plain old really fucking great songs.

Pink Floyd's "Wish You Were Here" has got to be the best damn song ever written. The first verse with its socio-political agenda, and then the second verse is so personal, not global at all. It goes from the macro "Big Picture", to the micro "individual loneliness" but yet its all about personal human needs....

"So... so you think you can tell heaven from hell, blue skies from pain.... Can you tell a green field from a cold steel rail, a smile from a veil? So you think you can tell.... Did they get you to trade your heroes for ghosts, hot ash for trees, a hard earth for a cool breeze, cold culture for change? Did you exchange a walk-on part in the war for a lead role in a cage" "How I wish, how I wish you were here. We're just two lost souls swimming in a fish bowl year after year. Running over the same old ground, have we found the same old fears? I wish you were here...."

Nirvana's "Lithium": yeah what can I say about Nirvana that I havent already. Just plain WOW....

"I'm so happy cuz today I found my friends, theyre in my head. I'm so ugly thats ok cuz so are you, broke all our mirrors. Sunday morning is everyday for all I care and I'm not scared to light my candles in a daze cuz I found God.... Yeah yeah... I'm so lonely thats ok I shaved my head and I'm not sad. And just maybe I'm to blame for all I've heard... but I'm not sure. I'm so excited, I cant wait to meet you there but I dont care if I'm so horny, that's ok my will is good. Yeah yeah... I like it I'm not gonna crack, I miss you I'm not gonna crack, I love you I'm not gonna crack, I kill you I'm not gonna crack"

Blue Oyster Cult "Dont Fear the Reaper":

god damn that note at the end of the solo, you know that note, the sustained one that seems to reach until forever... god damn thats beautiful.

(some of these lyrics might be wrong)

"All our times have come. Here but now they're gone. Seasons don't fear the reaper nor do the wind, or sun or the rain. We can be like they are. Come on baby, don't fear the reaper, take my hand... we'll be able to fly. Baby I'm your man.... Father time is done. Here but now they're gone. Romeo and Juliet are together in eternity. (Romeo and Juliet) 40,000 men and women everyday, like Romeo and Juliet. 40,000 men and women everyday, redefine happiness. Another 40,000 coming everyday, we can be like they are.... Come on baby, don't fear the reaper. Baby take my hand, we'll be able to fly. Baby I'm your man.... Half of two is one. Here but now they're gone. Came her last night of sadness and it was clear that she couldn't go on. The door was opened and the wind appeared, the candles blew then disappeared, the curtains flew then he appeared... saying don't be afraid. Come on baby. And she had no fear and she ran to him, then they started to fly. They looked backward and said good-bye. She had become like they are, she had taken his hand... she had become like they are. Come on baby, don't fear the reaper."

Eric Clapton "Wonderful Tonight"

I always loved this song but something that happened gave it special meaning: The year after I moved from NY to OH I was back visiting, while there three kids (from my old NY school) died in a car crash. A pretty horrible car crash I might add. Like flames-and-seatbelts-that-wouldnt-come-off bad. The town is very small, the high school included grades 7-12 and still didnt have 300 kids.... Although I didnt really ever have any friends there, nor was I close with the kids who died, their deaths impacted me a great deal. "Wonderful Tonight" was the theme from that year's prom. Later on in life the song took a different meaning, being with Lon.... We were out once, at some club, and I caught him humming this, sort of singing it under his breath. I think he thought I wouldn't notice because I was so drunk, but I did. I didn't let him know though, he's not one to express feelings often.... anyway it was very cute. He even tried to learn the guitar part for this song a long time ago, back when we liked each other....

"It's late in the evening, she's wondering what clothes to wear. She puts on her make-up and brushes her long blonde hair. And then she asks me, Do I look all right? And I say, "Yes, you look wonderful tonight." We go a party and everyone turns to see this beautiful lady that's walking around with me. And then she asks me, Do you feel all right? And I say, "Yes, I feel wonderful tonight." I feel wonderful because I see the love light in your eyes. And the wonder of it all is that you just don't realize how much I love you. It's time to go home now, I've got an aching head.... So I give her the car keys and she helps me to bed. And then I tell her, as I turn out the light, I say, "My darling, you were wonderful tonight." Oh my darling, you were wonderful tonight."

Lynyrd Skynyrd "Freebird"

c'mon, it's on everybody's list! Man when this song comes on the radio I speed up by 20 mph at least... (do I really need to tell you how fast I drive to begin with?) Back in the day when I was holding Randy hostage in my trite suicidal games, this song was a signal I'd use to let him know I was attempting again soon.... I've always wanted to have sex while this song played, never have. I figure climaxing during the crescendo at the end would just rock...

"If I leave here tomorrow would you still remember me? For I must be traveling on now, there's too many places I've got to see. If I stay here with you girl things just couldn't be the same cuz I'm as free as a bird now and this bird you cannot change. Lord knows I can't change.... Bye-bye babe, it's been sweet love, though this feeling I can't change. But please don't take this so badly cuz the Lord knows I'm to blame. But if I stay here with you girl things just couldn't be the same cuz I'm as free as a bird now and this bird you cannot change. Oh, and this bird you cannot change, Lord knows I can't change... Lord help me, I can't change... Oh no, I can't change. I got to fly high, I'm a freebird...."


Always remember to quit while you're ahead.

last :: next
About Me
I am a bipolar genius, child abuse & addiction survivor, who is now a single mother who works 70 hours a week and has had gastric-bypass weight loss surgery a year ago. Wish me luck cuz I need it!!!

Examples of My Insanity
Dead On Mental Health Quiz
Tuna Noodle Casserole Story
Explaining Myselves
Biting Off Redneck's Finger
Got So Crazy Scratched Til I Bled
How I Found Nirvana
Leaving Lon After 7 Years
Bad Luck On 3 July 4ths
Random Craziness (FBI Please Disregard)
How I Ended Up A Junky
Almost Getting Raped by a Marine
Typical Weekend in Ohio
How Cobain Saved My Life


How long could we maintain? I wondered. How long until one of us starts raving and jabbering at this boy? What will he think then? This same lonely desert was the last known home of the Manson family; will he make that grim connection when my attorney starts screaming about bats and huge manta rays coming down on the car? If so, well, we'll just have to cut his head off and bury him somewhere, 'cause it goes without saying that we can't turn him loose. He'd report us at once to some kind of outback Nazi law enforcement agency and they'll run us down like dogs. Jesus, did I say that? Or just think it? Was I talking? Did they hear me?


AFTER


WHAT'S MY NAME?!?