Defining Moments of My Life
Observations of an OSU Coffeehouse Crowd

**REGISTER TO VOTE ONLINE!** **SIGN DARFUR ACTION PETITION HERE!!**




Observations of an OSU Coffeehouse Crowd
09.04.02 2:36 p.m.

This will be my fourth night here

watching the idots come and go.

There's a 20 minute line

for over-priced crapuccino

while I've made do with the

79 cent bottomless cup of

regular joe for 72 hours already.

At first i thought someone would rescue me,

secondly I thought maybe I was already rescued, just being here

thirdly I began to think maybe I wasn't worth rescuing

and tonight I just don't care.

The same people are here that have been here all week.

-I'm homeless, what's their excuse?-

I wonder if they've noticed me back here

or if I'm just part of the scenery now.

I guess that's what they've become for me though.

Waiting in line they would tell you they like your "style"

and say things like "It's been soooo long!"

and "so how have you been?"

as if they wanted and expected any answer but "fine, and you?"

It's a circus when they sit down for "deeper" conversation.

-who's got a story for center ring, to pass around some lie, something?-

(that dark-haired stranger, that handsome prince, that true love never walks through the door, like he does in my mind)

In this summer of deprevity

it is fashionable to be screwed up.

This place is like a screw-magnet....

They gather to tell their stories

to compete for the pity prize for having lived the worst life,

for that night anyway....

It's funny, in a sick kind of way,

that their trauma is fabricated,

and that being beaten and spanked, hit and kicked, starved and punished, molested and neglected...

being homeless, being strung out, being raped...

that these things are what makes someone cool now.

believe me, if it's bad, and if it could gain a person some false-condolence

then the paintings on the walls have heard enough.

(where is my doe-eyed stranger, the one that's supposed to come rescue me, why doesn't he ever show up)

The only reason humans interact

is to feel better about ourselves,

whether it to feel safe or feel cool.

And I'm no better...

here I sit way back in the corner,

in the coveted velvet throne of a chair

being all myserious and existential in my black and blood colored skirts

and my golden tresses hiding my eyes, imagining a crown of thorns on my head....

Because if I told them my story, my truths,

they would indeed call me God.

(he just never walks in, that's my problem...)


Always remember to quit while you're ahead.

last :: next
About Me
I am a bipolar genius, child abuse & addiction survivor, who is now a single mother who works 70 hours a week and has had gastric-bypass weight loss surgery a year ago. Wish me luck cuz I need it!!!

Examples of My Insanity
Dead On Mental Health Quiz
Tuna Noodle Casserole Story
Explaining Myselves
Biting Off Redneck's Finger
Got So Crazy Scratched Til I Bled
How I Found Nirvana
Leaving Lon After 7 Years
Bad Luck On 3 July 4ths
Random Craziness (FBI Please Disregard)
How I Ended Up A Junky
Almost Getting Raped by a Marine
Typical Weekend in Ohio
How Cobain Saved My Life


How long could we maintain? I wondered. How long until one of us starts raving and jabbering at this boy? What will he think then? This same lonely desert was the last known home of the Manson family; will he make that grim connection when my attorney starts screaming about bats and huge manta rays coming down on the car? If so, well, we'll just have to cut his head off and bury him somewhere, 'cause it goes without saying that we can't turn him loose. He'd report us at once to some kind of outback Nazi law enforcement agency and they'll run us down like dogs. Jesus, did I say that? Or just think it? Was I talking? Did they hear me?


AFTER


WHAT'S MY NAME?!?