Defining Moments of My Life
tornado chasing

**REGISTER TO VOTE ONLINE!** **SIGN DARFUR ACTION PETITION HERE!!**




tornado chasing
06.03.03 9:11 p.m.

Eric and I went tornado chasing today. Yesterday I was contemplating it. There were touchdowns about 2 hours away around Austin, and also on the other side of us, in the county east to Houston. There would have been enough gas to get to either of those places but probably not enough to get back. So I didn't go. This afternoon Eric got out of work a little bit minutes early. When we got home I was watching the clouds. There was a decent line of thunder clouds, the frontmost one in particular, and there was updraft around it. I did my usual tornado prayer, kind of like a Sioux rain dance. I pointed it all out to Eric. There was updraft, and the cell was definitely tall enough to spawn a tornado. I said that if there was going to be somethng, it was coming out of that. We went inside and within 10 minutes there was a tornado warning flashing on the tv screen. There was a confirmed touchdown in Sugarland, which is the suburb that borders the one we live in. The actual spot was about 5 miles away. While this was going on Eric was on the phone with the other guitarist in his new band who was saying that practice had been cancelled for tonight. I was already changing my clothes and finding the camera.... I knew he didn't really want to come with me but I think he did mainly to make sure I didn't jump head first into a twister. We headed out to where the touchdown occurred but the storm had moved on. It was only going 10 mph so it was easy t catch up with. The tornado had already disapated but the storm was still roaring strong. We followed it for about an hour hoping it would spawn more tornados. It didn't happen. The storm was still incredible, I got some great pictures that I'll post once developed.


Always remember to quit while you're ahead.

last :: next
About Me
I am a bipolar genius, child abuse & addiction survivor, who is now a single mother who works 70 hours a week and has had gastric-bypass weight loss surgery a year ago. Wish me luck cuz I need it!!!

Examples of My Insanity
Dead On Mental Health Quiz
Tuna Noodle Casserole Story
Explaining Myselves
Biting Off Redneck's Finger
Got So Crazy Scratched Til I Bled
How I Found Nirvana
Leaving Lon After 7 Years
Bad Luck On 3 July 4ths
Random Craziness (FBI Please Disregard)
How I Ended Up A Junky
Almost Getting Raped by a Marine
Typical Weekend in Ohio
How Cobain Saved My Life


How long could we maintain? I wondered. How long until one of us starts raving and jabbering at this boy? What will he think then? This same lonely desert was the last known home of the Manson family; will he make that grim connection when my attorney starts screaming about bats and huge manta rays coming down on the car? If so, well, we'll just have to cut his head off and bury him somewhere, 'cause it goes without saying that we can't turn him loose. He'd report us at once to some kind of outback Nazi law enforcement agency and they'll run us down like dogs. Jesus, did I say that? Or just think it? Was I talking? Did they hear me?


AFTER


WHAT'S MY NAME?!?