Defining Moments of My Life
dat mon a bum he only got 4 job

**REGISTER TO VOTE ONLINE!** **SIGN DARFUR ACTION PETITION HERE!!**




dat mon a bum he only got 4 job
07.06.03 2:00 p.m.

What I wanted to really write about was the job that was offered to me. While in the noon meeting on friday I congratulated everyone and wished them a happy independance day. I said that I'm not patriotic (no really?) and that July 4th has a different meaning to me. I almost have a year off heroin, and I'm no longer a slave to a chemical substance. Though I "only" used every day for 10 months, and then on & off after that, I've been a slave to chemicals for a very long time. All the different medications that I was on before I went out on my own and found the one that worked.... Seriously it was the first fourth of july in 10 years that I wasn't on SOMETHING. So after sharing my definition of indie day with the group one of the men thanked me for sharing such insight and he went on to say that I always have something good to share. Usually people mumble the "thanks for sharing" thing. After the meeting he came up and asked if I've heard of a program that goes into drug rehab centers and holds ABE/GED classes. I hadn't heard of it and he gave me background info on it. He asked if I would like a teaching job. Flat out he was like "How would you like a job teaching ABE/GED in rehab centers for $19 an hour?" um... duh! fuck yeah I'd like that.... There are a couple negatives: They don't do hiring till september and it's only 10 hours a week. But 10 hours a week at $20 an hour is like 40 hours @ min wage.... He gave me his card and gave me instructions to put something in my cover-letter that will remind him of who I am. He's anticipating many applications and he wants to flag the ones of the people he's personally recruited. He almost fell down when I told him that I'm already an ABE teacher. One thing I need to find out about, and I'm pretty sure what the outcome might be already, is if I have to be degreed in order to teach. AmeriCorps let it slide because I have so much college credit (200 hours) but for something like this it might be more strict. I might only be able to make the $11 an hour "teacher aide" wage. There's no way I'm finishing any of the degrees I've started any time soon. Anyway, even the $11 an hour would rock. Remember I have that job in December too. Both incomes would be plenty. Hell I might even be able to afford to take care of myself for once, imagine that. Well, after I get the bankruptcy taken care of and all.

I'm still going to apply for jobs but if I don't get anything I'm not going to totally stress out about it. With tight budgeting and a lovely break on the sept rent for resigning the lease, Eric should be alright. What sucks is that I can't ever get something when I need it. I needed a job months and months ago and all I find is "You definitely have a job, it just doesn't start for 2-4 months." Just like I never get sick when I have health insurance. It's like Chris Rock's bit: "When I was single I never got phone calls like 'Hey this is Pam, me and my girlfriend are having a dick sucking contest and we thought you'd be the perfect judge.' Now that I'm in a relationship I get that call every Tuesday!" So basically I got two jobs, but they don't start for a couple months.


Always remember to quit while you're ahead.

last :: next
About Me
I am a bipolar genius, child abuse & addiction survivor, who is now a single mother who works 70 hours a week and has had gastric-bypass weight loss surgery a year ago. Wish me luck cuz I need it!!!

Examples of My Insanity
Dead On Mental Health Quiz
Tuna Noodle Casserole Story
Explaining Myselves
Biting Off Redneck's Finger
Got So Crazy Scratched Til I Bled
How I Found Nirvana
Leaving Lon After 7 Years
Bad Luck On 3 July 4ths
Random Craziness (FBI Please Disregard)
How I Ended Up A Junky
Almost Getting Raped by a Marine
Typical Weekend in Ohio
How Cobain Saved My Life


How long could we maintain? I wondered. How long until one of us starts raving and jabbering at this boy? What will he think then? This same lonely desert was the last known home of the Manson family; will he make that grim connection when my attorney starts screaming about bats and huge manta rays coming down on the car? If so, well, we'll just have to cut his head off and bury him somewhere, 'cause it goes without saying that we can't turn him loose. He'd report us at once to some kind of outback Nazi law enforcement agency and they'll run us down like dogs. Jesus, did I say that? Or just think it? Was I talking? Did they hear me?


AFTER


WHAT'S MY NAME?!?