Defining Moments of My Life
addicts and guns?

**REGISTER TO VOTE ONLINE!** **SIGN DARFUR ACTION PETITION HERE!!**




addicts and guns?
07.12.03 11:45 p.m.

This was posted on the NA-Houston mailing list. Only in Texas, I hope....
----------------Now , we are talking about the meeting place , this strikes even me

as a serrious issue for the groups safety and our very own first

tradition. I just recently headed up an ad'hoc committee that is

presently working up guidelines for the welfare of the group and guns

do not belong in N.A. Period ! I support whatever action the group

takes in preserving the safety of the members. I also believe knives

on the belt should be left in the car. Lets face it , we should have

shuffled the focus off of the past and on to the recovery process.

What we were when we used is not who we are today. Dress up to the

standards of who you are today. The indians arent carrying bows into

the meeting although they are still American Indians and the gangstas

aint toting the mac 10 although they have not forgotten their

herritage either. I lived in Reno and carried a sawed off shot gun

that they would check at the bar for me , I am not that person today

but I aint quite chuckee cheese either. It just goes to show , we do

recover! Or we should be or we aint listening .Its all about

progress. The more we learn about ourselves the more we lose the need

to hold on to those things that gives us a false sense of security.

Outside of N.A. is a very real world .I would like to know my wife is

not defenseless in a home invasion incident but you would never see

me with a weapon at an N.A. event . Its plain and simple ,its wrong. ~cag--------

This all came about after someone's gun fell out of their holster onto the floor during a meeting. Gun didn't discharge but still it's not cool. I didn't quit shootin myself to end up getting shot at a meetin, right.


Always remember to quit while you're ahead.

last :: next
About Me
I am a bipolar genius, child abuse & addiction survivor, who is now a single mother who works 70 hours a week and has had gastric-bypass weight loss surgery a year ago. Wish me luck cuz I need it!!!

Examples of My Insanity
Dead On Mental Health Quiz
Tuna Noodle Casserole Story
Explaining Myselves
Biting Off Redneck's Finger
Got So Crazy Scratched Til I Bled
How I Found Nirvana
Leaving Lon After 7 Years
Bad Luck On 3 July 4ths
Random Craziness (FBI Please Disregard)
How I Ended Up A Junky
Almost Getting Raped by a Marine
Typical Weekend in Ohio
How Cobain Saved My Life


How long could we maintain? I wondered. How long until one of us starts raving and jabbering at this boy? What will he think then? This same lonely desert was the last known home of the Manson family; will he make that grim connection when my attorney starts screaming about bats and huge manta rays coming down on the car? If so, well, we'll just have to cut his head off and bury him somewhere, 'cause it goes without saying that we can't turn him loose. He'd report us at once to some kind of outback Nazi law enforcement agency and they'll run us down like dogs. Jesus, did I say that? Or just think it? Was I talking? Did they hear me?


AFTER


WHAT'S MY NAME?!?