Defining Moments of My Life
Popeye Pie

**REGISTER TO VOTE ONLINE!** **SIGN DARFUR ACTION PETITION HERE!!**




Popeye Pie
08.23.03 6:29 p.m.

I made a bomb-ass quiche tonight. Because of Atkins there's no crusts to my quiches, but all you need to do is use a store bought pie shell. I've never made a quiche with a shell so you guys can look up the directions yourself.

Ingredients

10 oz fresh spinach, steamed, chopped and drained (or 10 oz frozen, thawed, chopped and drained/squeezed)
4 cloves garlic, minced
6 extra large eggs
1/2 cup half and half or heavy cream
1/2 cup shredded italian blend cheese (mozerella, romano, asagio)
1/4 cup parmesean
1/2 tsp thyme
salt and pepper to taste

Optional Ingredients (for non-vegitarian, non-jewish/muslim, fungii lovers)
2 chicken breasts (boiled is easiest but you can bake them first or broil/grill them if you're that anal)
1 medium onion (I can't stand onion, plus it's not very atkins-friendly)
5.5 oz can of sliced mushrooms
1/4 cup REAL bacon pieces (for the love of evil do not use BACOS!)

Pre-heat oven to 350 F. I combined steps, saved time by boiling chicken and steaming spinach together, if you don't have one of those kinds of pots then I don't know what you can do. I am by no means a steamed-veggie expert. Slice chicken breasts into three strips, and then slice those in half so you end up with 6 long chicken strips. Do the same for the other breast and line the bottom of a greased (PAM works fine) 9x6 cooking dish. Cake pans will work fine too, you may want to add more eggs though cuz your quiche will be "shallow". Spread mushrooms (if so desired) on top of chicken. Scramble the eggs with the half and half (or cream), some salt & pepper if you want, then the garlic and thyme. If you choose to put onions in the quiche, sautee the onion in 1 Tbsp olive oil and put the thyme and garlic in with it instead of in with the eggs. Once eggs are scrambled, add the cheeses and bacon. Mix and add chopped and drained spinach. Mix again. Pour over chicken and make sure bottom of dish is full, no air pockets are left under the chicken. Bake for about 20-25 minutes or until slightly browned on top. Great with caesar salad and white wine. Serves 4. Bon Appetit!


Always remember to quit while you're ahead.

last :: next
About Me
I am a bipolar genius, child abuse & addiction survivor, who is now a single mother who works 70 hours a week and has had gastric-bypass weight loss surgery a year ago. Wish me luck cuz I need it!!!

Examples of My Insanity
Dead On Mental Health Quiz
Tuna Noodle Casserole Story
Explaining Myselves
Biting Off Redneck's Finger
Got So Crazy Scratched Til I Bled
How I Found Nirvana
Leaving Lon After 7 Years
Bad Luck On 3 July 4ths
Random Craziness (FBI Please Disregard)
How I Ended Up A Junky
Almost Getting Raped by a Marine
Typical Weekend in Ohio
How Cobain Saved My Life


How long could we maintain? I wondered. How long until one of us starts raving and jabbering at this boy? What will he think then? This same lonely desert was the last known home of the Manson family; will he make that grim connection when my attorney starts screaming about bats and huge manta rays coming down on the car? If so, well, we'll just have to cut his head off and bury him somewhere, 'cause it goes without saying that we can't turn him loose. He'd report us at once to some kind of outback Nazi law enforcement agency and they'll run us down like dogs. Jesus, did I say that? Or just think it? Was I talking? Did they hear me?


AFTER


WHAT'S MY NAME?!?