Defining Moments of My Life
Eventful Weekend

**REGISTER TO VOTE ONLINE!** **SIGN DARFUR ACTION PETITION HERE!!**




Eventful Weekend
11.10.03 3:57 p.m.

An eventful weekend, and the fun hasn't stopped. As soon as I finish this entry I need to get my ass home and dressed for a little get together with Anne Rice tonight. Yeah, Interview With The Vampire, Lestat etc... THAT Anne Rice. It was only supposed to be a book signing, exciting enough, but when I got my number (earlier we lined up to get numbers for the order we will line up in tonight, confusing I know) they handed out a little rules sheet, and on the bottom it said to dress festively for the reception. Ooooh, hors d'ouvres with Anne Rice, not too shabby. Only downside to all of this is that she can only sign books bought from that store, and the only books they had available were the two newest, IWTV, Lestat and The Witching Hour. The books were only in hardback and were $27 each. I bought the two newest cuz I dont have them yet. I can get more signed if I want to buy more. I don't know how much I could get for it on ebay, so I don't think I'll risk it. Also she tends to sign a lot of things, her sig isn't worth much. I'm more interested in meeting her. Dinner with a bunch of vampire wanna-bes sounds like fun too.


The Strokes kicked major fucking ass on Friday night. The best show I've ever been to. There was only one asshole around me and he turned out cool (meaning: he got me stoned). I started out 6 people back from the front, towards the middle of the show we got pushed back to about 12 people back. Then four songs to go they played "Last Night" and a dancing hole opened (I'd say mosh pit but they weren't moshing, just dancing). I love when pits open up, it's like a break in traffic, you automatically can move up 10 people closer if you time it right, which I always do. I ended up 4 people back. Two songs to go I was worried that they wouldn't play "Someday", not only my fave song by them but one of my faves of all time in general. He took requests, I screamed out "It's my birthday, play Someday!!" And they played Someday. I don't think he heard me but a couple guys around me said "Well, Happy Birthday!" The crowd was so awesome, everyone was really nice, not too much pushing, lots of joint passing. Also for most of the show there were 5 rows of not even 5 foot tall Latinas in front of me, so being behind them was like being right up front basically. Another very cool thing about the crowd was how they looked: no pretentious fucks, no whorey lookin trash... those girls were up in the balcony. I swear I've never wanted to slaughter a woman more in my life than those whores on the balcony, but anyway... everyone was nice looking but not TOO nice looking if you know what I mean. It was nice to be smashed up into nice people for a change. A couple different things to talk abotu along those lines... I have never had so much sweat belonging to other people go in my mouth... and I hope to never again.... One time, man it was like slow motion, I'm opening my mouth to yell and the guy ahead of my whips his head back, he had short hair, I saw it coming but couldnt get my mouth closed in time, YUCK! It happened with a few different people, though one of them was sweet... for the last song, Julian sang while standing on people in front of me. Most of the crowd was pushing from behind, trying to get their hands on him. Me and one of the dudes who wished me a happy birthday were actually trying to hold him up. He ended up falling forward at one point ans was almost dragged down into the crowd but me and dude pushed him back up. He grabbed dude's hand and shook it kinda, he grabbed my hand and did the same but then he gave me his bandana. I guess he's a crypt, LOL. The thing is funk nasty in the funkiest sense of the word. It smelled kinda good though, like incense, but with sweat and beer smell added on. I have it in a ziplock bag at home. One day I'll clone a Stroke of my own.
Saturday was awesome too. I rocked the fuck outta my placement test. If I do only 80% as well as I think I did then I still did really well. There was barely any advanced algebra on it. The problem that gave me the most, well, problem, was the one figuring out the population density of the earth, and that was only difficult because I was told no calculators on my enrollment form and practice book and when I got there everyone had calculators, whoops. Quite a few had theirs confiscated though cuz you could only use a very basic calculator. Anyway I spent 10 minutes figuring out the sirface area of the earth, minus 2/3 of it being unusable, divided by 5 BILLION people... yeah 10 minutes... but I guessed right. I think it was all the caffeine helping me think. Also I was pretty hungry and I think that was incentive. Except for the huge problem about choclate chip cookies. They give you a recipe, standard stuff, 2 cups flour, 1 tspn vanilla etc, and then they tell you that she has a 50 pound bag of flour, 12 gallons of vanilla, a whole semi truck full of oil, etc and you have to do all the metric/measurement conversions and figure out how many cookies she can make... sucks for all the people out there who dont know how to read a recipe and/or those who don't know what "yield 2 dozen" means. there were so many places to go wrong on that prob, yet it was easier than the pop density one. Also on the test were many logic problems, ven diagram crap "if all As are B and some Bs are C, then which is true? All As are C..." etc Also formal statistic problems. Anyway that's the math I'm good at. I hope the results come soon, it was all scantron except the essay, my topic was "Should college level athletes be paid." yeah okayyy like they dont get enough as is.... My essay ended up being TOO long and I had to cut it down some, they wanted 300 - 600 words, mine was 700 originally. I counted short words though and it also fit nicely into the space provided so I think I did alright.
I need to go soon but I want to mention the haunted house party and Eric's gig. Both went well. The band performed the tightest set yet. They were very together. Sometimes they sped up, but they ALL sped up. They messed up on a couple songs but those 2 are the hardest and they mess them up a lot. The door situation was fucked up. They had 7 different people performing that night, on three different stages. They had one girl at the door already when I got there, she lost money, didnt know who had the "big bills", wasn't sure how the door was being divided etc, they was much squabbling after the gig. We managed to earn enought o buy all of us breakfast at Katz's a NYC style deli, lots of Kosher, lots of cheesecake, all good. I'll add more later. I need to go get festive.


Always remember to quit while you're ahead.

last :: next
About Me
I am a bipolar genius, child abuse & addiction survivor, who is now a single mother who works 70 hours a week and has had gastric-bypass weight loss surgery a year ago. Wish me luck cuz I need it!!!

Examples of My Insanity
Dead On Mental Health Quiz
Tuna Noodle Casserole Story
Explaining Myselves
Biting Off Redneck's Finger
Got So Crazy Scratched Til I Bled
How I Found Nirvana
Leaving Lon After 7 Years
Bad Luck On 3 July 4ths
Random Craziness (FBI Please Disregard)
How I Ended Up A Junky
Almost Getting Raped by a Marine
Typical Weekend in Ohio
How Cobain Saved My Life


How long could we maintain? I wondered. How long until one of us starts raving and jabbering at this boy? What will he think then? This same lonely desert was the last known home of the Manson family; will he make that grim connection when my attorney starts screaming about bats and huge manta rays coming down on the car? If so, well, we'll just have to cut his head off and bury him somewhere, 'cause it goes without saying that we can't turn him loose. He'd report us at once to some kind of outback Nazi law enforcement agency and they'll run us down like dogs. Jesus, did I say that? Or just think it? Was I talking? Did they hear me?


AFTER


WHAT'S MY NAME?!?