Defining Moments of My Life
roadie/groupie/photographer/soundman/promoter/...

**REGISTER TO VOTE ONLINE!** **SIGN DARFUR ACTION PETITION HERE!!**




roadie/groupie/photographer/soundman/promoter/...
11.16.03 12:56 p.m.

They suspended my CLIX account until I unlock my diary, saying that my "locked diary and banner are bringing havoc to the clix listings". There are plenty of locked diaries on Clix. It doesn't matter that much, I use clix to show off banners not to gain readers. Anyway you don't have to gimme clix anymore.


I really need to start booking shows for the Satellites. Friday's show was a benefit for domestic violence. Cool, we don't get paid, it's a benefit no big deal. But we drove almost three hours to get there and everything so when we got dicked over on time that really pissed me off. We started pretty late. The band before us was told by the soundman "one more song" and they played THREE songs after that. Then the soundman/bar owner was a complete jerk. He would play redneck shit in between the bands (who were all rock). We were told we had the stage till 12:30 and at 12:10 he came on the speaker and said "Let's give a hand to Stacey and the Satellites, thanks for ocming out, goodnight!" and then the house lights come up. We were cut 20 mins short AND he didn't let us know we had one more song so the song we ended on was slow and not one of the best. Also we had taken a short break in the set cuz we thought we had enough time for 2 45 min sets. After 45 mins there was a break, when we were ready to play again we had to wait on the country music to stop and the rednecks to get off the dance floor. So with getting on late, the extended break and getting cut off short, we got about ten songs played. Then last night at Helios... not much better. They changed our times and stage 4 times this week. It was settled on 8-10pm on the main stage. They didn't open the bar until 7:50. Great... we didn't get started until 8:20. Our opening act couldn't get into town until about 9 so that's why we went on first. We ran over into her time but her guitarist didn't get there until 9:10 anyway. They started playing at 9:30. There were two bands upstairs also, they were supposed to play from 10-close. They set up everything, did soundcheck, were totally ready to play. That is, until some bitch showed up saying they had the upstairs booked for a dj. Okayyy... they talked to me then the bartender and they were told to move downstairs. They prolly ended up making more money being downstairs but we ran over into their time and they had also been set up and ready to play. Then there was the door. Last weekend when we played there some other bitch was working the door. That's when they said we only had 35 people in to see us and Sarah. I don't know how the whole room can be packed and we only get 35 people on the tally. I prolly already bitched about her though, not being able to find the money, wanting us to wait till close to get paid etc.... She didn't show up until 9pm and when she did the first bitch (the one with the DJ) came and said "There's another girl who always works the door and I think they don't need you to work it anymore" and I said "I'm working the door for my band, last weekend whoever it was that worked the door totally fucked things up and we got dicked on money, ya'll can do whatever the fuck you want with the other bands but I'm collecting money for Stacey and Lauren." Then she tried to protest "But the owner called HER and told HER to get the door" and I said "It's not professional for the door to be taken by an outside party, she has no interest in this band and no incentive to be honest about our tally and our funds..." she started again: "But Marianna the owner..." and I walked away from her. I'm pretty sure the owner is selling drugs from the bar but that's a whole other thing... and would explain why everyone that works there acts like a crackhead. The girl taking door, the same bitch that fucked up shit last weekend, came up to me name dropping the owner again saying it was her job to take door for the bar. She said "so I think you should give me all the money you've already collected and let me handle it" I laughed in her face and walked away. Then I was explaining what was going on to the bands who were double booked upstairs and I talked about how they wanted the money I'd already collected. I said something like "Dumb 80 pound bitch ain't gettin shit outta my pockets. Fuck, I've eaten steaks bigger than her!" well she overheard me say that and I didn't hear any shit outta her mouth for the rest of the night. I need to just threaten to beat (or eat) people up right away, save all that time bickering and whatnot. In all we played very well, that place has good sound. I wish they weren't all crackheads though. I'm gonna talk to Ken (Stacey's dad and band's lead guitarist) and make sure we get better gigs. I'll just step up.
In other news, I applied for woodscape apartments. They were running a $399 1BR special. The studios were $370 and $385 so realistically that's like not eating out twice a month would make up that difference. The one br is much bigger. The cabinets and carpet were pretty old and worn out but that wouldnt matter to me, it also wasn't the apt I'll (hopefully) be moving into. I asked for an upstairs apt, she had many many available so I had my choice. Ideally, I wanted upstairs and a corner but I only got upstairs. It's right at the very end of the complex near the back gate, hopefully away from all the commotion/crime. I hope I get accepted, for obvious reasons and also cuz I had to pay a $50 fee that I don't get back no matter what. If all goes well I'll be moving in Dec 1st. There were also problems with having no paystubs and not making enough to qualify for my apt. She said to bring the stub once I get a check and that being short on income would prolly be OK, if not, Eric said he'd cosign. I need to see the food stamps people again now that I am moving and have income. I hope they don't cut benefits much cuz I'll only be making $1100 gross a month. Rent is $400. I don't have any real other expenses. I'd like to pay off some people I owe money to so even though I have no real bills now I don't want to think that I have money to spend. Speaking of spending money though, I got a decent futon for $100 at the salvation army. Got a shirt and some ugly pants and a 70's tie too. I have a thing for horrible 70's ties. At the SA store there was a real leather couch for $300. It was in pretty nice shape too. Eric was loving it but the cats would tear that shit up in a minute. I could afford it but I think it's a little over the top. I have the money now but in three months when I'm going hungry I'm gonna wish I hadn't gotten such an expensive couch., But then again, it has resale value, and alsoif I don't spend money on furniture and shit I need I'm gonna end up spending it on dumbshit like eating out, spongebob stickers, body piercings and horrible 70's ties....


Always remember to quit while you're ahead.

last :: next
About Me
I am a bipolar genius, child abuse & addiction survivor, who is now a single mother who works 70 hours a week and has had gastric-bypass weight loss surgery a year ago. Wish me luck cuz I need it!!!

Examples of My Insanity
Dead On Mental Health Quiz
Tuna Noodle Casserole Story
Explaining Myselves
Biting Off Redneck's Finger
Got So Crazy Scratched Til I Bled
How I Found Nirvana
Leaving Lon After 7 Years
Bad Luck On 3 July 4ths
Random Craziness (FBI Please Disregard)
How I Ended Up A Junky
Almost Getting Raped by a Marine
Typical Weekend in Ohio
How Cobain Saved My Life


How long could we maintain? I wondered. How long until one of us starts raving and jabbering at this boy? What will he think then? This same lonely desert was the last known home of the Manson family; will he make that grim connection when my attorney starts screaming about bats and huge manta rays coming down on the car? If so, well, we'll just have to cut his head off and bury him somewhere, 'cause it goes without saying that we can't turn him loose. He'd report us at once to some kind of outback Nazi law enforcement agency and they'll run us down like dogs. Jesus, did I say that? Or just think it? Was I talking? Did they hear me?


AFTER


WHAT'S MY NAME?!?