Defining Moments of My Life
I dare ya

**REGISTER TO VOTE ONLINE!** **SIGN DARFUR ACTION PETITION HERE!!**




I dare ya
01.06.05 12:04 p.m.

I promised myself that if I get called into work tonight that I�m going to fill all the donuts with whatever nasty soup is still sitting on the stove whenever I get there. �Would you like to try one of the new donuts? Really? Great, we got powdered sugar with beef stew OR broccoli cheddar?� Psych, I wouldn�t actually TELL THEM I put beef stew inside the donuts, I�d just let em figure it out for themselves. Call me in today bitches, do it!

See I called work last night to make sure they wouldn�t be calling me in. �Nope, it looks good tonight,� and in my head I think �YIPPEE!� for about half a second cuz the manager keeps talking: �you may want to try the other store though�� in my head �dun dun DUN� I call the other store and it takes em a half hour to call me back and yes, they do need me to work tonight. On all of two hours sleep after getting called in the night before, no problem. It�ll be a slow night, they said, easy night they said. Yeah right, they�re lucky I ain�t filling the donuts Van Wilder style if you know what I mean. So I get there early and the store�s a fucken MESS. They only schedule two people for afternoons nowadays so they don�t get anything done and leave it up to the night person, which is fine (sort of) as long as you have a night person like myself who busts their ass most nights. The people they�ve had haven�t done jack. I swear the soup troth hasn�t been scrubbed since the last time I did it a month ago. I wasn�t about to spend two hours chizzling out month old crusty mineral deposits/spilled chili/month old bacon that�s been floating around in the murky depths�. They were wayyyy too many donuts baked and no soups, no bacon ready, no turkey rolled, no tomatoes sliced� and they don�t tell you this as theyre running out the door, you gotta find out by having a line of cars in the drive thru, the first guy wanting a large blt, ok no large breads we�ll give him two smalls for the price of a large, oh and there�s no bacon, oh and only one tomatoe, dudes OK with it tho, nice guy� next guy in line wants a large turkey bacon club, two small breads again, and look no turkey, AND no tomatoes, that�s OK I�ll just reach down here in the fridge by my feet to grab the back up turkey and tomatoes� except they aren�t there, ok run to the wayyy back of the store for the back up bins in the walk in� ok theyre not there either� I have to sort the boxes to find the turkey, get the one with the closest expiration date, sort thru and find the tomatoes and get nice looking ones, run back out front, meanwhile I goet two more people in the drive thru and Im memorizing their orders cuz Im nowhere near the registers� �do I even have decalf made??? Note to self start decalf for number 3 in line� finish that guys shit and he wants to add a soup, we still got the signs up for broccoli cheddar and turkey rice and we always have to have chicken noodle so he takes the cheddr, lift up the lid and it�s empty, ok he�ll have the turkey, nope let�s try soup #3� so he takes the rest of the noodle and I get him out of the drive thru and onto the next� I had people at the counter at this time and ended up giving them stew at soup price, and the stew was barely servable, and I was slicing tomatoes as I went� ran out of bread and the baker has already started the danishes so the oven are in use for 25 minutes, bakers spozed to do my bread, tho second shift should leave me with bread� but theyre not spozed to start baking ANYTHING till 3 am� not 11pm�.no wonder why they get all their shit done and have a sparkling kitchen by morning�. So I couldn�t sell any more sammiches, unless they wanted stale wheat bread, for almost an hour. But by the time the breads were done I had turkey rolled and tomatoes cut AND back up bins of each. Then there were the spider webs all over the place and the spider hanging down over the soup bins, which luckily for the spider were empty but still dine in customers noticed and got kinda grossed out. Then there was the curdled milk crap that was all over the underside of our creamer machines, and the same for the ice cap machine tho that wasn�t moldy like the creamer shit was�. Then the baker starts lignin/piling his shit up all over my counter space cuz he�s got the donuts done by one am, when I�m spozed to do count at 2am and have the showcase tossed and scrubbed out by three, so he�s fucking up my schedule and rushing me. Plus all of his shit is stale by the time we get customers. It was ridiculous. When I cleaned the showcase I actually had the get the metal thingy I use to chizzle the soup troth to scrape out the month�s worth of crusty glaze and powdered sugar that was about a half inch deep in the corners and sides of the showcase.

Greg had my car and he showed up after the bars closed, came in and was putting apple fritter donut holes in his beef stew� slept in the car the rest of the night. They told me I could leave as soon as the morning person got there, which was 4:30 am. I didn�t get out of there till 5:45. THEN a little after 11pm my cell rings, I was in the back so I answered it and it was the manager of my store asking me to come into work! �Im already working at the other store� and she was PISSED, hey she was the one that told me 6 hours earlier that they were covered for the night AND to call the other store to see if they needed help. So what the fuck. They call me in to TWO DIFFERENT STORES on my night off� the third night in a row they�ve fucken called me in! So I was spozed to go to my store whenever the morning help showed but the baker and the morning help were bitching about me leaving so I had to stay but by that time the manager had talked the son of the manager of the other store to come to our store to let her leave. I woulda rathered work my not fucken nasty store, and had the other lady�s son work his own store�. It was all kinds of fucked up. Easy night indeed� call me in again fuckers�they�ll be lucky I don�t have a bulldog with a fondness for �clairs.


Always remember to quit while you're ahead.

last :: next
About Me
I am a bipolar genius, child abuse & addiction survivor, who is now a single mother who works 70 hours a week and has had gastric-bypass weight loss surgery a year ago. Wish me luck cuz I need it!!!

Examples of My Insanity
Dead On Mental Health Quiz
Tuna Noodle Casserole Story
Explaining Myselves
Biting Off Redneck's Finger
Got So Crazy Scratched Til I Bled
How I Found Nirvana
Leaving Lon After 7 Years
Bad Luck On 3 July 4ths
Random Craziness (FBI Please Disregard)
How I Ended Up A Junky
Almost Getting Raped by a Marine
Typical Weekend in Ohio
How Cobain Saved My Life


How long could we maintain? I wondered. How long until one of us starts raving and jabbering at this boy? What will he think then? This same lonely desert was the last known home of the Manson family; will he make that grim connection when my attorney starts screaming about bats and huge manta rays coming down on the car? If so, well, we'll just have to cut his head off and bury him somewhere, 'cause it goes without saying that we can't turn him loose. He'd report us at once to some kind of outback Nazi law enforcement agency and they'll run us down like dogs. Jesus, did I say that? Or just think it? Was I talking? Did they hear me?


AFTER


WHAT'S MY NAME?!?