Defining Moments of My Life
AIDS tests

**REGISTER TO VOTE ONLINE!** **SIGN DARFUR ACTION PETITION HERE!!**




AIDS tests
04.27.03 8:55 p.m.

Friday afternoons we have training sessions at work. They're held at our Heights location, which is about a kazillion miles away from where I live, and having to get home on a Friday afternoon is a pretty ardorous task. This Friday was ok though. Anyway our training this week was on HIV/AIDS. We had some Houston AIDS task-force type people come out and do a presentation. They also brought a plebotonist with them who administered free tests if we wanted one. Only about 10 of us got tested, and most of them were from my site, which I found funny. They were the "cheap" old tests, where we have to wait 2 weeks for the results, instead of 40 minutes like the more costly tests. Even though they said the different tests were all accurate, I opted for the blood test instead of the mouth-swab thing. I'm not nervous about getting the results. I'm pretty apethetic to it, either way. I'll have two weeks to prepare myself for any bad news, to think up some postive aspects to having HIV... like being a walking biological weapon... hell yeah!!!!

Anyway, here are a few things we learned.

Greatest Risks of Being Infected

1. Needles (IV, piercing, tatoo)
2. Anal Sex
3. Vaginal Sex
4. Oral Sex
5. Child Birth
6. Nursing Children
7. Blood Transfusion (before 1985)

So all the fun stuff has the greatest risks....

Four Body Fluids HIV is Transmitted Through

1. Blood
2. Pre-cum
3. Semen
4. Vaginal Fluids

Though it's rare, people have gotten HIV from trying on contact lenses and by getting a manicure/pedicure. And though most claim air kills HIV, and that dried blood cannot infect anyone, there are cases of that as well. So for example, you COULD get HIV from sharing a toothbrush with someone. HIV can get into the pores of your mouth, you dont even have to have any cuts or be bleeding, and you dont have to SWALLOW. They told us that alcohol, including mouthwashes and things of that nature, makes the pores in our mouths up to five times bigger. So no unprotected oral sex after you brush your teeth! I'm kidding... unprotected 'anything' is putting yourself at risk. You don't even want to know the kinds of facts they gave us on Herpes and Hep A, B & C. You'd wrap yourself in plastic wrap (but NOT the microwaveable kind!) and never leave your house again. sweet dreams to all the sluts out there.


Always remember to quit while you're ahead.

last :: next
About Me
I am a bipolar genius, child abuse & addiction survivor, who is now a single mother who works 70 hours a week and has had gastric-bypass weight loss surgery a year ago. Wish me luck cuz I need it!!!

Examples of My Insanity
Dead On Mental Health Quiz
Tuna Noodle Casserole Story
Explaining Myselves
Biting Off Redneck's Finger
Got So Crazy Scratched Til I Bled
How I Found Nirvana
Leaving Lon After 7 Years
Bad Luck On 3 July 4ths
Random Craziness (FBI Please Disregard)
How I Ended Up A Junky
Almost Getting Raped by a Marine
Typical Weekend in Ohio
How Cobain Saved My Life


How long could we maintain? I wondered. How long until one of us starts raving and jabbering at this boy? What will he think then? This same lonely desert was the last known home of the Manson family; will he make that grim connection when my attorney starts screaming about bats and huge manta rays coming down on the car? If so, well, we'll just have to cut his head off and bury him somewhere, 'cause it goes without saying that we can't turn him loose. He'd report us at once to some kind of outback Nazi law enforcement agency and they'll run us down like dogs. Jesus, did I say that? Or just think it? Was I talking? Did they hear me?


AFTER


WHAT'S MY NAME?!?