Defining Moments of My Life
the truck

**REGISTER TO VOTE ONLINE!** **SIGN DARFUR ACTION PETITION HERE!!**




the truck
06.08.03 8:11 p.m.

I found out that I definitely have that job. It's being the night manager of the center I volunteer in for AmeriCorps. So I volunteer-work doing the ESL teaching from 9 AM-1 PM, then get paid $10 an hour to do the night manager stuff from 3:30 PM-9 PM, Monday thru Thursday. The hours will vary, those were the hours ms. pepper worked, or was supposed to work... they wanted her to do a bunch more shit, meaning a bunch more hours, so when they see I can handle the small stuff I'll probably be working Friday afternoons etc. So that's good, right?

Sort of. Eric bought a brand new truck wednesday during his lunch hour. I don't know if I mentioned that before. We do "need" another car, especially with me working such odd hours starting July first. But did we really need a NEW truck...? He's wanted something that will easily fit all his band gear etc, and having the truck has been handy with helping people people move shit TWICE so far. But did he need a brand new truck? It's not my money though, right?

Sort of. Pretty convenient that I get a job and he gets a brand new truck, huh? "But I gave you the car" he says. Yes, a 94 chevy lumina with a hundred thousand miles, a cracked serpentine belt, cracked windshield, brakes that go "dut dut dut dut dut dut" when I use them and my personal favorite, no air conditioning. Very fucking fun to a yankee with asthma to have no ac in Houston, in the summer, in level 4 air pollution. Quite the fair trade indeed. I get the Lumina and he gets a truck that I can't even drive. A truck that he says I cannot drive at all cuz of insurance purposes, even though before when I commented that I won't be able to drive stick he said he'd teach me. Furthermore, I hate the truck. It's too bouncy, it's not big-titty nor poor-knees friendly. The seatbelts are "standard people" size and I can't fit it properly across my boobs. So if we do get in a wreck I'm bound to get my throat slit by it. That's if the airbag doesn't snap my head off beforehand. I'm sitting four inches away from it. Then there's the knees. I have the corner of the dash/radio/ashtray poking one knee and the window roller-downer handle hitting the other knee. And there's not enough leg room to move my knees anywhere else.

It would be somewhat better if it was a truck he could afford. It's an extra $400 a month with all the loans and insurance. Last weekend he said that the truck he was looking at was $9,500. He said he could borrow $6,000 against his 401K and pay back $50 a paycheck for that and then only need to finance $4,000 from the dealer. Instead he borrowed the $6,000 against himself and said he financed $9,000 grand with the delaer, who wouldn't give him anything better than an 18 fucking % rate. Talk about a Bipolar decision there. He's got poor credit I know, but 18%... a loan shark has better fucking rates. So he's got a $250 car note, $50 owed to himself, and $200 in insurance. That's HALF of my monthly paycheck. He said we need to be more 50/50 on things. I'll be giving up half my paycheck, he needs to do half the chores. However it'll work out I know I'm going to get the short end of the stick.


Always remember to quit while you're ahead.

last :: next
About Me
I am a bipolar genius, child abuse & addiction survivor, who is now a single mother who works 70 hours a week and has had gastric-bypass weight loss surgery a year ago. Wish me luck cuz I need it!!!

Examples of My Insanity
Dead On Mental Health Quiz
Tuna Noodle Casserole Story
Explaining Myselves
Biting Off Redneck's Finger
Got So Crazy Scratched Til I Bled
How I Found Nirvana
Leaving Lon After 7 Years
Bad Luck On 3 July 4ths
Random Craziness (FBI Please Disregard)
How I Ended Up A Junky
Almost Getting Raped by a Marine
Typical Weekend in Ohio
How Cobain Saved My Life


How long could we maintain? I wondered. How long until one of us starts raving and jabbering at this boy? What will he think then? This same lonely desert was the last known home of the Manson family; will he make that grim connection when my attorney starts screaming about bats and huge manta rays coming down on the car? If so, well, we'll just have to cut his head off and bury him somewhere, 'cause it goes without saying that we can't turn him loose. He'd report us at once to some kind of outback Nazi law enforcement agency and they'll run us down like dogs. Jesus, did I say that? Or just think it? Was I talking? Did they hear me?


AFTER


WHAT'S MY NAME?!?