Defining Moments of My Life
bullshit slingshot

**REGISTER TO VOTE ONLINE!** **SIGN DARFUR ACTION PETITION HERE!!**




bullshit slingshot
06.17.03 2:08 p.m.

I'm sure you can guess what the outcome of that meeting was yesterday.... If you said "Joey gets fucked over again" you'd be correct! So it's back to the drawing board with finding a job. I have a couple prospects already. One of the girls we hang out with at karaoke owns her own Sonic franchise. A couple months ago she offered me a job. The only catch (besides being a fast-food job) would be that it's "kinda far away". And in a city like Houston, where going two exits on the highway can take either 2 minutes or 2 hours... "kinda far away" means "total nightmare to drive to". But if I dont have to go through the hiring process, and all that bulllshit, then it's something I'll be up for doing. Plus if I'm working there from mid-afternoon till like 10pm or whenever, the traffic won't be THAT horrible. Eric got the air conditioning fixed in the car, ("THANK YOU!" btw) so the traffic won't be all that bad.

Another option, though further down the road, is the idea to get someone in the position here I wanted, but only until I finish AmeriCorps. The technicality that makes it impossible for me to work it right now is because the houston read commission treats americorps like a temp agency. When you work for a temp place they send you out to a company, well that company isn't allowed to hire you until your contract is up for the temp agency... same thing with acorps. So even though I said that I'd quit americorps, it doesn't go by how many hours I've worked or if I've finished my hours or if I've quit altogether, it matters if I've fulfilled my contract. Now they said that if my hours were finished, or I had worked 9 full-time months, then they could bend the rules some (and what good is having a rule or policy in the first place if you're gonna bend it anyway... grrr!) So Stacey, the lead singer of Eric's band, also was let down recently. She thought she'd been awarded an internship at a hospital over the summer and at the last minute they went with someone "in-house" to do it. She needs something that will leave her enough hours to do her music/have band practice, and also pay decent etc. She doesn't want anything long term either. I already suggested to her about either doing AmeriCorps next year or for her to apply with the read commission for a teacher aid or teacher position. She was interested. So my plan is to hopefully get her in here to do the summer or however long it takes for me to finish my hours and get permission to work for the read commish, then if she is going to do americorps, it'd be like we were switching jobs. Shut up, it could work. Or I could actually find a job... yeah right.... There's my problem of keeping a job once I actually do get hired. Being mental and all, and having to keep that disguise daily, having to pretend like I'm not planning the deaths of coworkers etc, is too much stress and sooner or later I end up under a table or shelf or something twitching, scratching myself all bloody and mumbling incoherantly. Then there's still the issue of fooling someone into hiring me in the first place. Most people go by looks. People may not say it, people may say "we hired you for your intelligence and personality" but they're full of shit, it was you're big tits and slutty clothes. A few years ago either 20/20 or 60 Minutes did a month long study on how overweight people are discriminated against. As Eric worded it so well yesterday, "Fat people: the minority it's still OK to hate" and it's true. Everyone else has lobby groups, has laws to protect against unfair treatment, except for those over-weight. They need to ammend the laws to say "there will be no discrimination between race, creed, religion, gender, age, disability or SIZE" pisses me off. Anyway the thing on 20/20 or whatever had a woman of average weight with a crappy resume: things misspelled, poor experience and references that led to disconnected phone numbers, apply for the same job as a fat girl with a phenomenal resume, top-notch experience and perfect references. Guess who got the interview/job every single time? Not the fat girl. They did 60 applications/interviews, it wasn't just a couple places, or just the men doing the hiring, EVERYONE discriminated against the heavier girl.... So how the fuck am I supposed to get a job when everyone out there thinks fat people are lazy, slow, STUPID (I don't even know where they get that from...) and poor workers. Then add in my work ethic, that I will not work to make a rich man even more money. Essentially I have to work for non-profit groups. The fast-food thing with Sonic would be pushing it, I'd be making my friend money, cuz it's her store and all, but it wouldn't be in the exact context as my vow of poverty. Anyway.... I'm thinking of redoing my resume and only putting down honest shit like "February 2001-August 2002, Junkie, Columbus Ohio" lol then list all my drop outs from college: "September 2000- January 2002 Ohio State University, dropped out cuz dude jumped out a 10th floor classroom window and landed at my feet while I smoked a clove" etc. I'm also thinking of putting an ad in the paper that says something like "Genius looking for job. I can do anything, but there are some things I won't do." Or maybe I'll join the Taliban. I wouldn't mind blowin some shit up. Probably too late for the taliban though, guess I'll have to start my own cult. I'll start a punk-rock cult. We'll worship Sid Vicious as our savior. There's already a Church of Nirvana in Seattle (seriously, there is) or else I'd start a Kurt-cult.


Always remember to quit while you're ahead.

last :: next
About Me
I am a bipolar genius, child abuse & addiction survivor, who is now a single mother who works 70 hours a week and has had gastric-bypass weight loss surgery a year ago. Wish me luck cuz I need it!!!

Examples of My Insanity
Dead On Mental Health Quiz
Tuna Noodle Casserole Story
Explaining Myselves
Biting Off Redneck's Finger
Got So Crazy Scratched Til I Bled
How I Found Nirvana
Leaving Lon After 7 Years
Bad Luck On 3 July 4ths
Random Craziness (FBI Please Disregard)
How I Ended Up A Junky
Almost Getting Raped by a Marine
Typical Weekend in Ohio
How Cobain Saved My Life


How long could we maintain? I wondered. How long until one of us starts raving and jabbering at this boy? What will he think then? This same lonely desert was the last known home of the Manson family; will he make that grim connection when my attorney starts screaming about bats and huge manta rays coming down on the car? If so, well, we'll just have to cut his head off and bury him somewhere, 'cause it goes without saying that we can't turn him loose. He'd report us at once to some kind of outback Nazi law enforcement agency and they'll run us down like dogs. Jesus, did I say that? Or just think it? Was I talking? Did they hear me?


AFTER


WHAT'S MY NAME?!?