Defining Moments of My Life
Sniper Dream, a short story

**REGISTER TO VOTE ONLINE!** **SIGN DARFUR ACTION PETITION HERE!!**




Sniper Dream, a short story
11.22.03 4:05 p.m.

I gotta get this dream down. It was like watching a movie, I would switch characters and points of view etc. Maybe I'll turn it into a short story further down the road. I started out a woman with brown curly hair. I was wearing leather, I knew I was a hitman. I was going into a HUGE house, like 5 stories tall and that wide as well. It was on a run down city block, there was a boarded up gas station and other closed store fronts along the street. The house looked like it used to be a factory or warehouse that had been converted. I was there for a meeting that the crime boss had called. There were almost a hundred other people there ranging in types from common street thug to sophisticated jewel theifs and white collar criminals, there were hackers and hitmen, of which I already said I was one. So we're all assembled to hear the boss and he says that he wants to retire. This would cause problems though because unlike other crime operations his was not a "family business", there was no second in command and no children or relatives to take over. His idea was simple, we would fight for it. Last man breathing would get his billion dollar operation. He said that anyone wanting to leave may do so now, and about a fourth of the criminals left. He said that only one person would be the new boss, no groups, no alliances. He mentioned it being like Survivor or Highlander... there can be only one. He said "Let the game begin!" and right away I got capped in the head. Just as quickly I switched bodies into a sexy looking stoner dude. I knew I was a sniper. I also knew everyone was jealous of me because I was the only one the boss would trust to kill the high priority people. I also knew that everyone would want to get me dead first because of this. I also remember feeling jypped, cuz I was certain the boss would just hand the business over to me, I was the closest thing to a second in command as he had. I got out of the room as soon as I had "morphed" into the stoner guy. When the gunshots erupted I was out on the street. Half of the people died in the first shootout. I planned to pick off the rest. I needed to find high ground. I made my way around the building and over the fence right before the electricity started to run through it. We were being trapped-in, like a wrestling cage match. I resented the boss for wasting all this life and the multitudes of good men, yet I was impressed at the general idea of it all. I was confident that I would be the one. I made my way dwon the steep hill of the back yard. The factory/house had been built into the hill so that at street level the building was only 3 stories, but from the back yard you could see all 5 floors of the house. I stayed close to the tree line and got down to the bank of the river that made the property line. I rested by the river, hidden amoung trees and their roots. I camoued myself with mud and twigs, etc and waited for dusk to fall. Though I couldn't hear the gun shots, I could see the light of them. Every so often I caught a wiff of gun powder, and maybe even a little blood, in the air. I wondered who had been killed. There were people who I hoped had been shot already, and then there were those that I wanted to kill myself. I cursed myself for not staying close to the house so I could know what was going on, know who was still alive, know the threats.... Dusk was coming, I counted out my rounds, wishing I had something more than the guns I had. One of them was a revolver, which is pretty much useless in a gunfight. My other gun was smaller and the bullets were small, it was probably a nine, the clip held almost 20 rounds... it coulda been a Glock 9. For all my success in sniping, I didn't know much about handguns and I cursed myself for that as well. More than once I made promises to myself that started like "I swear when I'm through all of this I'm going to..." It was getting dark, there were fewer and fewer flashes of light. They used to be every few minutes, now it was one or two an hour. Not many people left. I went up to the house the same way I'd come down, along the tree line. I was very confident, I had more talent and more training than any of the other men. I had a sense of knowing all the things I was telling myself were just to boost my confidence, but I needed any ally I could get, my ego included. I climbed up a fire escape and into a second floor room. The house had many rooms, most of them unfurnished. There were a couple bodies in the room, one of them had been trying to get out the window when they were shot, lucky for me cuz they'd unlocked the window which made it able for me to get into the house without making any noise. I couldn't hear any people near me, I waited by the door to watch for any moving shadows. I wanted to make a rounds of the house to take a death inventory, my goal was to get down to the main room. I couldn't make plans without a fairly accurate count of how many were still alive, and who they were. My plan was to make the rounds and then get to the top floor, clear out that floor, it was an attic really, and then make my stand on the stairs. I didn't like the idea of being backed against a wall so to speak, but stairwells are notoriously good ground for snipers. During my rounds of the house I counted more than 20 dead and I wasn't even to the main room yet. I was able to pick up some ammo along the way but most people had bigger guns than I did. Someone had already collected the guns, this made me worry. Someone had many many guns, and someone was proficient enough to make a rounds like I was doing myself. Could that someone have had the same plan as I did, was there an ambush waiting for me in the coveted stairwell? There wasn't much time to think on these things because as I entered the main room, I wasn't even totally inside it, and there were bullets wizzing by me. Even if I can't see the flash of a gun, I always know from where bullets come from, thanks to my sniper training. I returned fire and within two rounds from my gun there were no more coming from his. I couldn't be sure how many others were still in the room, I didn't think there were any at all because they would have joined in with the shooting. I took a deep breath and started counting bodies. Close to 40 dead in this room, plus the 20 or so throughotu the house. I hadn't been to the 5th floor yet, and I don't know if any were able to sneak out the front and run away. I wished I'd stayed otu front to see how many possibly left. I wished I'd taken an accurate head count before any fighting took place. I treid to picture in my mind what the room looked like when everyone was standing in it. It was indeed crowded. The room seemed huge now that it was empty for the most part.


Always remember to quit while you're ahead.

last :: next
About Me
I am a bipolar genius, child abuse & addiction survivor, who is now a single mother who works 70 hours a week and has had gastric-bypass weight loss surgery a year ago. Wish me luck cuz I need it!!!

Examples of My Insanity
Dead On Mental Health Quiz
Tuna Noodle Casserole Story
Explaining Myselves
Biting Off Redneck's Finger
Got So Crazy Scratched Til I Bled
How I Found Nirvana
Leaving Lon After 7 Years
Bad Luck On 3 July 4ths
Random Craziness (FBI Please Disregard)
How I Ended Up A Junky
Almost Getting Raped by a Marine
Typical Weekend in Ohio
How Cobain Saved My Life


How long could we maintain? I wondered. How long until one of us starts raving and jabbering at this boy? What will he think then? This same lonely desert was the last known home of the Manson family; will he make that grim connection when my attorney starts screaming about bats and huge manta rays coming down on the car? If so, well, we'll just have to cut his head off and bury him somewhere, 'cause it goes without saying that we can't turn him loose. He'd report us at once to some kind of outback Nazi law enforcement agency and they'll run us down like dogs. Jesus, did I say that? Or just think it? Was I talking? Did they hear me?


AFTER


WHAT'S MY NAME?!?