Defining Moments of My Life
Me vs Reality

**REGISTER TO VOTE ONLINE!** **SIGN DARFUR ACTION PETITION HERE!!**




Me vs Reality
11.24.03 12:11 p.m.

I haven't finished the dream/story in the last entry but don't worry, I will. As it is, it doesn't have a very good ending (I woke up before I could see it all played out) so I've been thinking about the ending. I've got a thousand stories in my head. Guess I'm waiting for the day when I can plug a jack into my temple and save everything in my head to hard disk. This diary is as close as I can get now. Kinda goes along the lines with my idea that before they die everybody should be "strongly encouraged" to write an autobiography or to write down everything they ever learned, or learned out of life. Then there would be a great catalogue of humanity, a human library and a reference for life. No more wondering what your grandparents were like when they were in their 20's. They'd all be open to the public and there'd only be a small fee to get to someone's writings, that fee would help run the whole operation. Just an idea of mine.... Anyway, I had sort of a panic attack last night about 4am. I was up reading and had finished the book when worry set in. Worry and sadness really. I don't know how it does it, how sad ness can be so invading like it is with me, and so penetrating. It's like the winter winds up north where you swear you feel the wind hitting your bones. In my manic-depression, my mania is nearly constant (it's how I'm able to function), it's not severe though, it's chronic. The depression comes like a car accident, I sometimes see it coming but there isn't enough time before it hits to do much of anything. I can only hope that all the preparations I've made will protect me, that my safety nets and seatbelts will work. Last night, no... I freaked for about a half hour and gave in and smoked a bowl. I hadn't smoked all day Sunday, and having smoked sort of a lot this weekend (and much in general since Oct) I wonder if it has something to do with that, that the THC levels keep me neutral. I've known they have but never to this degree. I've always known smoking, for me, was equivalent to taking a prescription, only cheaper and without such nasty side effects. So maybe it needs to be smoked regularly, like a pill must be taken at regular intervals, and that my moods were affected by not having smoked any yesterday. Interesting. So I need to back up off the pipe, spread it out more, be chronic with the... chronic. Yeah I wish I had chronic. Anyway, when the sadness hit me last night I was thinking "why can't love come and attack me in the middle of the night, why is it always sadness" and I also thought about why I don't feel the good emotions as strongly as the negative ones. I figured it was the bipolar aspect of it all. That I feel the mania spread out and not so intense, so the same goes for good feelings. The depression is rare but intense, like the bad feelings. My goal is to merge the two some day, to flatline the moods to some extent. Compared to three years ago when my bipolar was peaking, the highs and lows were more drastic and I can see now that it is leveling out over time. It makes me wonder many things, most of them are "what ifs", and what ifs are useless to me.


The worry last night came from an emptiness that's opening up inside me again. I am changing again, you might be able to tell from the language I use and the length of my entries maybe. I might not make total sense. For the longest time I was like this, very figurative and subjunctive, uncollected, undefined. I had crazy dreams, I would see things, my imagination appeared real, weird things would happen. Then the H and the great end to all the ailleurs became too far to reach, and I stopped trying to grab at them. I've been sensing my change back to this and I don't like it. I've made much progress that I don't want to reverse. And though I long for the abstract I must remain in the concrete. I'd like to find a middle, like the flatlining of my moods, to even things out. Instead of the "useless" imaginings (talking to made up people or celebrities like they are imaginary friends) I want to talk to myself like that. Not the self right now, not ME, but the me five years from now, the me I had as my higher power when I was still going to NA. I would like for that me to come into the concrete, and for this me to become that me. And we all tend to become like our friends, right? So if this imaginary me that I would like to be came around more often then I would be more like... me. Makes sense to US anyway, lol. I worry about living alone still, actually I had stopped worrying for a while and the change I sense in myself is what brings that worry back. Who, or what, will I seek out to end the loneliness sure to come? Who will I have to act normal for or to try for? Who will I cook and clean for? Who will tell me that I smell and need to take a shower? Simple things you may take for granted but things I can't do for myself, things I might do for the me five years from now though. Me will be my roommate. Me will be real to me and hopefully soon will be realized to everyone else.


Always remember to quit while you're ahead.

last :: next
About Me
I am a bipolar genius, child abuse & addiction survivor, who is now a single mother who works 70 hours a week and has had gastric-bypass weight loss surgery a year ago. Wish me luck cuz I need it!!!

Examples of My Insanity
Dead On Mental Health Quiz
Tuna Noodle Casserole Story
Explaining Myselves
Biting Off Redneck's Finger
Got So Crazy Scratched Til I Bled
How I Found Nirvana
Leaving Lon After 7 Years
Bad Luck On 3 July 4ths
Random Craziness (FBI Please Disregard)
How I Ended Up A Junky
Almost Getting Raped by a Marine
Typical Weekend in Ohio
How Cobain Saved My Life


How long could we maintain? I wondered. How long until one of us starts raving and jabbering at this boy? What will he think then? This same lonely desert was the last known home of the Manson family; will he make that grim connection when my attorney starts screaming about bats and huge manta rays coming down on the car? If so, well, we'll just have to cut his head off and bury him somewhere, 'cause it goes without saying that we can't turn him loose. He'd report us at once to some kind of outback Nazi law enforcement agency and they'll run us down like dogs. Jesus, did I say that? Or just think it? Was I talking? Did they hear me?


AFTER


WHAT'S MY NAME?!?