Defining Moments of My Life
getting jewed on easter

**REGISTER TO VOTE ONLINE!** **SIGN DARFUR ACTION PETITION HERE!!**




getting jewed on easter
03.28.05 8:09 p.m.

It's been over a week since my last entry. Ive been pretty sick and Ive been working a lot. In fact, today was my day off until I agreed to go into work tonight at midnight. I didnt really get a nap today and the girl Im working with is a newbie AND a retard, so it oughtta be interesting. 12-6am, there arent really any customers, specially on a Monday freakin night. I can whip through the chores and help the retard baker for the rest of the night.

When Bossman called me this afternoon I thought it was going to be to talk about me walking out of work yesterday. Yeah, I had to work Easter. And not only Easter, but EIGHT FUCKING A.M. Easter. All of the regulars requested off, and seeing Im not exactly religious, (or the kind of religious that goes to church, we can say) Bossman figured I'd be glad to work Easter. Now remember back when he had me working on xmas? I was supposed to work 10pm-6am on Christmas, I had to leave family dinner early and skip out on all the xmas parties, sleep the afternoon and evening, just to get to work and find everything locked up. "Oh we decided not to open after all, sorry we didnt get a hold of you." After getting shafted on xmas, I get royalled screwed easter. Now that it's spring break and holiday time, Im getting all kinds of hours. All kinds of SHIT hours, like 10am on Friday, 9am on saturday, and 8 am on Sunday. This week coming up Im back on second shift but Im still working six out of seven days this week. After doing 12-6am tonight I work 2pm till 6pm tomorrow, TECHNICALLY 12 hours that day. Im not done bitching about Easter though. Ive been really sick all week, ear infections that turned into sinus infections. Really fucking pleasant seeing I didnt have anything leftover in my paycheck after paying car insurance to buy the one drug Im actually able to take while pregnant (Sudafed). My nose is RAW, like cracked, peeling. My lips bleed when I smile. I look like shit and I definitely wouldnt want someone looking the way I do to make me a sandwich or bagel. I set my alarm early to see if I would be able to work easter or if I should call in. I thought about it and figured I was $7-sick but not it being easter and holiday time-and-a-half-pay-sick. About 10am someone informs me that we're not getting holiday pay, that it's a Horton's thing and not a Bossman thing. So I stopped fighting the sickness about that time. Before, I was reminding myself of the money I was making, and I could finally get ear mite meds for Nubs, and set some aside for car repairs etc.... We werent that busy, there was me, the retard girl who does the dishes and keeps the tables clean (all she CAN do...), a baker, the asst manager and a supervisor. We're busier at night than that morning. And for some reason I wasnt allowed to go home. The asst manager FORBID it. "There isnt anyone to do your job and Im not calling anybody in" My shift was 8am till 2:30pm, 6.5 hours. At 6 hours you get a half hour docked from your pay cuz youre supposed to have a break. I didnt get a break that day, (though the doc's note says to sit down ten minutes every hour). I asked to go around noon and then got serious abotu it around one. The asst manager hid in the office after saying no so that I couldnt talk to her or call anybody or whatever. I was making sandwiches with snot dripping out of my nose, secretly hoping it'd land on the sandwich (never did, dammit). At one point I was handing food out the drive through window with tears running down my cheeks. At quarter to 2pm a couple guys on the next shift showed up and I left. I felt better that afternoon, having gotten real food at my aunt's house (roast pork and trimmings), and Greg came with me so that was super nice, just sitting on a couch again was very relaxing (no furniture in this house but kitchen chairs and beds, remember). Im still thinking about filing a complaint with OSHA or whoever. Im definitely going to call and see what the deal is, if it's anonymous and what happens after a complaint. No holiday pay, no break, forcing me to work when Im too sick and asking to leave, having a sick person handling food etc.... I should walk out on them tonight. I shouldnt charge anybody for their coffee at all.



Always remember to quit while you're ahead.

last :: next
About Me
I am a bipolar genius, child abuse & addiction survivor, who is now a single mother who works 70 hours a week and has had gastric-bypass weight loss surgery a year ago. Wish me luck cuz I need it!!!

Examples of My Insanity
Dead On Mental Health Quiz
Tuna Noodle Casserole Story
Explaining Myselves
Biting Off Redneck's Finger
Got So Crazy Scratched Til I Bled
How I Found Nirvana
Leaving Lon After 7 Years
Bad Luck On 3 July 4ths
Random Craziness (FBI Please Disregard)
How I Ended Up A Junky
Almost Getting Raped by a Marine
Typical Weekend in Ohio
How Cobain Saved My Life


How long could we maintain? I wondered. How long until one of us starts raving and jabbering at this boy? What will he think then? This same lonely desert was the last known home of the Manson family; will he make that grim connection when my attorney starts screaming about bats and huge manta rays coming down on the car? If so, well, we'll just have to cut his head off and bury him somewhere, 'cause it goes without saying that we can't turn him loose. He'd report us at once to some kind of outback Nazi law enforcement agency and they'll run us down like dogs. Jesus, did I say that? Or just think it? Was I talking? Did they hear me?


AFTER


WHAT'S MY NAME?!?