Defining Moments of My Life
my cheesy essay for AmeriCorps application

**REGISTER TO VOTE ONLINE!** **SIGN DARFUR ACTION PETITION HERE!!**




my cheesy essay for AmeriCorps application
10.31.02 12:01 p.m.

What strengths would you bring to the program and how will they assist you as a Literacy* AmeriCorps member? How do you foresee this position helping you grow personally and professionally?

My greatest strength is determination. I�ve had a fairly rough life and am proud of the accomplishments I�ve made. I do not regret any of the hardships because through them I became strong, intelligent and empathetic. These hardships led to a way of life which is dedicated to serving the community. My previous work with City Year-AmeriCorps and taking care of a severely autistic boy was difficult. I�ll admit there were times I didn�t want to go to work in the morning... but I always went. These weren�t jobs, it wasn�t work, it was my way of life. When I�ve been unfortunate enough to have to work �real jobs� I was always miserable knowing that my strengths and skills weren�t being used, that my potential was being wasted. I want to make a difference. I want what I do to matter. I am more than content to spend my life making Robert Kennedy Ripples and throwing dying starfish back in the sea one at a time.

Though I like the person I am today, the person I could be is even better. The goals I am working on now are to learn how to better structure my time; to get more organized in general, and to continue to lose weight (I�ve kept off forty pounds in the last year). The structure and routine of a position like this would be ideal in achieving those goals. I am new to Houston and Texas; the AmeriCorps program would be a great way to get to know the city, the people and places therein. Although the education award would barely put a dent in what I already owe on student loans, I would still be able to finish my degrees with $4725. Because I have always done what I want to be doing with my life, finishing school wasn�t a high priority. But my ultimate goal is to serve with some kind of international humanitarian aide organization like the Peace Corps. As a degree is required for the Peace Corps, I have renewed motivation to finish school. My experience, skills and knowledge of French are in high demand right now but I need to live in Texas for a year to qualify for residency status. Tuition is much more costly and I wouldn�t be eligible for many grants or scholarships without such status. This AmeriCorps program is the perfect opportunity for me to put to work the experiences I�ve had in the past while at the same time learning new skills that will be valuable for where I want to go in the future. As I have done with all situations in my life, during my time with AmeriCorps I intend to take the best and leave the rest.


Always remember to quit while you're ahead.

last :: next
About Me
I am a bipolar genius, child abuse & addiction survivor, who is now a single mother who works 70 hours a week and has had gastric-bypass weight loss surgery a year ago. Wish me luck cuz I need it!!!

Examples of My Insanity
Dead On Mental Health Quiz
Tuna Noodle Casserole Story
Explaining Myselves
Biting Off Redneck's Finger
Got So Crazy Scratched Til I Bled
How I Found Nirvana
Leaving Lon After 7 Years
Bad Luck On 3 July 4ths
Random Craziness (FBI Please Disregard)
How I Ended Up A Junky
Almost Getting Raped by a Marine
Typical Weekend in Ohio
How Cobain Saved My Life


How long could we maintain? I wondered. How long until one of us starts raving and jabbering at this boy? What will he think then? This same lonely desert was the last known home of the Manson family; will he make that grim connection when my attorney starts screaming about bats and huge manta rays coming down on the car? If so, well, we'll just have to cut his head off and bury him somewhere, 'cause it goes without saying that we can't turn him loose. He'd report us at once to some kind of outback Nazi law enforcement agency and they'll run us down like dogs. Jesus, did I say that? Or just think it? Was I talking? Did they hear me?


AFTER


WHAT'S MY NAME?!?