Defining Moments of My Life
atheism entry

**REGISTER TO VOTE ONLINE!** **SIGN DARFUR ACTION PETITION HERE!!**




atheism entry
05.14.03 5:24 p.m.

Here's a short entry Sarita wrote on atheism. It's a good definition.

-----------------------------

atheism is, not only the disbelief in the existence of god, but the belief that, instead of waiting for some world watcher to do what you want done for you, do it yourself. Most Atheists believe that instead of confessing our sins, we should learn from our mistakes. C'mon seriously, telling all your personal confessions to someone who had deciated his/her life to nothing, and asking him/her to forgive you. If you can't accomplish something on your own, you will do less with some one else praying for you.

It's not all because I don't believe in the existence of a god, but about how unbelieveable it all is. If "the lord" has made everything that humans know of, then why cant "the lord" use her/his almighty power to come here to Earth, show him/herself, and explain everything to us? people say that some questions are left to remain unanswered. but maybe that is just an excuse people have made up for there being no sensible answer. No one, and I mean no one, of this Earth can actually prove the beginning of life or how the universe came to it's existence . the bible or any other religious text doesn't have the answer. some people say all the answers are in it, but yet even those people can't asnwer the simple question "what or who is God". is (s)he just a myth we humans have made up in order to justify our exsistance and insanity? I have just decided that I don't know, and that I'm not going to waste my time thinking about it.

Alot of people have asked me why and what led me to becoming an athiest. Well, i guess growing up as a child, i was never forced into a religion because my parents always allowed me to chose for myself. Ironically i went to a Catholic School where mindless religious drivel was shoved down my throat against my own will. Nuns criticised my beliefs and I was even threatened to be expelled when I once wrote a few interesting tidbits on religion on my webpage. Hypocrites.

Anyways, the more my questions weren't answered, the more and more I drew away from religion. I don't believe in god, heaven, hell, angels, satan, astrology or anything else that has anything to do with how or what people believe. I am my own person, and no one on this Earth will make me believe otherwise. no one but me that is.

---------------------------
There are a few differences bwteen she and I. First, I think there could be some scientific basis behind astrology. Though I don't plan my life around any charts or forecasts, the coincidences are more than interesting. Second, like her, I was never forced to go to church when I was younger, except for a short period of time. I'm pretty sure my mom is athiest as well. The time I mention is the 7-8 months I lived with my evil aunt and uncle. This was in 8th grade. My mom and brother had moved to Ohio, I stayed to finish out the school year. First I lived with my gramma, who's petty much certifiaby insane, then was moved to my other relatives. My aunt being in such denial over her alcoholic abusive husband and her alcoholic child molester son, she's "devout" in her belief of God, and his ability to make everything OK.... This is when I was forced into church. And its choir. Horrible hideous choir. The only reason we had one was to showcase the pastors young beautiful wife and her young beautiful voice.... I lip-synched the whole time. Me, sing praises to the god that left me locked in a basement nearyly every day for 8 years, to the god that didn't raise a finger to stop the sexual abuse and the torture I endured. I think not. So I say that I'm an atheist, because logically there is no god. But it doesn't matter if there is or isn't. really, it doesn't. If Jesus Christ knocked on my door today and said "hey Joey, you know, I was more than just some cool rebel hippy dude, I REALLY was the spirit of god come into the flesh of man in order to experience all the shit I make humans go through." I would say "And...?" I wouldn't change the way I live. I wouldn't beg forgiveness. I wouldn't quake with fear or cower. If there is a god, then he is my enemy. Then I have someone I can blame for the horrible things that happen to people everyday. I HOPE there is a god, so I can look upon him one day and ask "Why?". Don't give me any of that human freedom bullshit... the philosophical answer to "If there's a god, why do people suffer?" is "So that we are free to make our own decisions, if god controlled peoples' actions then we wouldn't be free." well that's all well and god, if you happen to be one of the people doing all the hurting.... I wasn't free to make my own decisions about whether or not I wanted to be used a sexual lab rat. In fact, I'm pretty sure I said "No, I do not want this." So much for god's freedom.


Always remember to quit while you're ahead.

last :: next
About Me
I am a bipolar genius, child abuse & addiction survivor, who is now a single mother who works 70 hours a week and has had gastric-bypass weight loss surgery a year ago. Wish me luck cuz I need it!!!

Examples of My Insanity
Dead On Mental Health Quiz
Tuna Noodle Casserole Story
Explaining Myselves
Biting Off Redneck's Finger
Got So Crazy Scratched Til I Bled
How I Found Nirvana
Leaving Lon After 7 Years
Bad Luck On 3 July 4ths
Random Craziness (FBI Please Disregard)
How I Ended Up A Junky
Almost Getting Raped by a Marine
Typical Weekend in Ohio
How Cobain Saved My Life


How long could we maintain? I wondered. How long until one of us starts raving and jabbering at this boy? What will he think then? This same lonely desert was the last known home of the Manson family; will he make that grim connection when my attorney starts screaming about bats and huge manta rays coming down on the car? If so, well, we'll just have to cut his head off and bury him somewhere, 'cause it goes without saying that we can't turn him loose. He'd report us at once to some kind of outback Nazi law enforcement agency and they'll run us down like dogs. Jesus, did I say that? Or just think it? Was I talking? Did they hear me?


AFTER


WHAT'S MY NAME?!?