Defining Moments of My Life
Ehrenreich article

**REGISTER TO VOTE ONLINE!** **SIGN DARFUR ACTION PETITION HERE!!**




Ehrenreich article
05.21.06 3:17 p.m.

exerpt from disscussion board in response to this: Barbara Ehrenreich article Janet, you'll find the article funny I think.

------------------after throwing out my baby daddy I was met with heated debate from everyone but my mother (cuz you know ALL my boyfriends are losers, yadda yadda). Family asked how I could raise a baby on my own, friends worried that I'd drop out of college yet again (been in & out 11 years now, 200 credit hours!), Food Stamps people threw a fit because without his "income" I was able to qualify for aid (Ironically they give me TOO MUCH, after complaining that I was even applying... $265 a month, I ALWAYS have left-over stamps as I cannot bring myself to eat steak and caviar at taxpayer expense.) Every single help organization I've turned to (aforementioned food stamps, as well as: WIC, TANF-which I declined- Catholic Charities, Legal Aid, County Child Care Services, and Section-8 housing complexes) have all asked me the same thing: "Where is the father, why didn't you get married when you found out you were pregnant, why did YOU throw HIM out (most often the man does the walking)??" and they asked these questions pretty much right away. Why is it that it's even expected of me (and all women) that I must be dependent upon a man? My answers to those questions still haven't changed: 1. Where's the father? "either on his way to the bar, at the bar, or waiting for the bar to open" 2. Why didn't you marry him when you found out you were pregnant? "Cuz I already made one mistake in getting knocked up!" 3. Why did you throw him out? "see nos. 1 & 2, and also for the simple economic reason that it only takes one person to be poor. Poor + poor = POORER"

Something similar happened while I was living in Houston, TX doing an AmeriCorps program. Because I was part-time I didn't get the free AC insurance, and because Houston is the armpit of America my asthma turned into bronchitis. I applied for the Harris County Gold Card, a health ins program for Houston. They declined me because I was living with a man. I told them that we weren't married. They said "If you're sleeping in the same bed then he should have you on his insurance." A week later I went in and this time listed him as a roommate, and imagine that, I qualified. "If you're sleeping together then he must pay..." Their policy reduces women to being whores, which is how I feel about the W administration trying to limit marriage to only women, that it isn't only discriminating against gays, it's also confining women to the role of housewife.


Always remember to quit while you're ahead.

last :: next
About Me
I am a bipolar genius, child abuse & addiction survivor, who is now a single mother who works 70 hours a week and has had gastric-bypass weight loss surgery a year ago. Wish me luck cuz I need it!!!

Examples of My Insanity
Dead On Mental Health Quiz
Tuna Noodle Casserole Story
Explaining Myselves
Biting Off Redneck's Finger
Got So Crazy Scratched Til I Bled
How I Found Nirvana
Leaving Lon After 7 Years
Bad Luck On 3 July 4ths
Random Craziness (FBI Please Disregard)
How I Ended Up A Junky
Almost Getting Raped by a Marine
Typical Weekend in Ohio
How Cobain Saved My Life


How long could we maintain? I wondered. How long until one of us starts raving and jabbering at this boy? What will he think then? This same lonely desert was the last known home of the Manson family; will he make that grim connection when my attorney starts screaming about bats and huge manta rays coming down on the car? If so, well, we'll just have to cut his head off and bury him somewhere, 'cause it goes without saying that we can't turn him loose. He'd report us at once to some kind of outback Nazi law enforcement agency and they'll run us down like dogs. Jesus, did I say that? Or just think it? Was I talking? Did they hear me?


AFTER


WHAT'S MY NAME?!?