Defining Moments of My Life
taking care of bidness

**REGISTER TO VOTE ONLINE!** **SIGN DARFUR ACTION PETITION HERE!!**




taking care of bidness
08.23.06 11:07 a.m.

Seems Empire State did steal money from me last semester afterall! I found this out by calling to see where my TAP (ny state grant, like the Pell) award was for this semester. They told me I was on academic suspension until I get my late work turned in. They also told me that when I turn it in that I need to ask my profs to get my outcomes (grades) posted by the start of the next semester (Sept 11) or else I wont see the fall semester money. Sounded fishy to me, seein as though I sent in written notices asking for the extensions, why would I be on academic suspension? I can see if I don't get the stuff turned in, that would make sense then. I didn't do that badly the semester before that so what's the problem? I called HESC, the people in charge of the NY state student aid, they put me through to some investigator lady and I explained what was going on with my americorps money last semester and now what was happening with the money HESC sent for me this next semester. She looked into my account and found that they had money for me last semester but that the school still hasn't "claimed" it yet. She said the school might be way behind, but doubted it, and said she'd make some calls over there and look into it. She said I'd still be entitled that money from spring of last year, another $2000 or so. I'm going to try to get the make-up work done this weekend so there's no excuse for them not to get the grades posted by the next semester. The HESC lady I talked to today said that the school should have applied for a waiver for me to still get the funds, the waiver is a one-time thing for students with family deaths or other crisis. It all sounded real fishy to her too. I'm taking really good notes on all of this in case there's a real investigation.

Yesterday was my last day toking before surgery. On the "consent to treat" forms I had to sign off on, they listed different side-effects and possible fuck-ups (hair loss to blood clots). They also said that any smokers needed to stop smoking at least three weeks before surgery to lessen blood clot complication chances. I know the suggestion is aimed at pack-a-day cigarette smokers and not bowl-a-day pot smokers, but I'm sure it'll help. We'll see how the moods go. I hope I"m thinking clearly for all the homework I plan on doing this weekend.

I havent seen or heard from PF in almost a month. I really need to get a ride there and get the PS2. The landlady and her daughter got Cassidy a car seat for her birthday. It's a wonderful gift, and a very cool seat. It's just a pain getting it into the landlady's truck. She has a huge dog kennel in there and also her scooter and the wench so I'd have to hook the scooter up, figure out how to use the wench, get that out of there, then fold down the kennel and get that out of there, put the seats back up and THEN figure out how to hook up Cass's new seat with only one half-cut off seat belt... too much work for a ten minute car trip. Plus putting everything back in after I'm done with the truck. It's also very hard for me to get the car seat buckled because the slats you gotta feed the seatbelt through aren't made for hands as big as mine, unless I"m doing it wrong. Maybe reading the instructions would help?

I tried to make Cass a dentist appt today and they told me they dont see kids under 4. No wonder why so many kids have rotten teeth! I called my mom and asked her to ask aroun dat work for dentists that take medicaid that see young children. My baby books and my human development text book both recommend that a baby see a dentist within 6 months of getting their first tooth. I didn't have much luck on the phone at all today trying to clear up business. wtf.


Always remember to quit while you're ahead.

last :: next
About Me
I am a bipolar genius, child abuse & addiction survivor, who is now a single mother who works 70 hours a week and has had gastric-bypass weight loss surgery a year ago. Wish me luck cuz I need it!!!

Examples of My Insanity
Dead On Mental Health Quiz
Tuna Noodle Casserole Story
Explaining Myselves
Biting Off Redneck's Finger
Got So Crazy Scratched Til I Bled
How I Found Nirvana
Leaving Lon After 7 Years
Bad Luck On 3 July 4ths
Random Craziness (FBI Please Disregard)
How I Ended Up A Junky
Almost Getting Raped by a Marine
Typical Weekend in Ohio
How Cobain Saved My Life


How long could we maintain? I wondered. How long until one of us starts raving and jabbering at this boy? What will he think then? This same lonely desert was the last known home of the Manson family; will he make that grim connection when my attorney starts screaming about bats and huge manta rays coming down on the car? If so, well, we'll just have to cut his head off and bury him somewhere, 'cause it goes without saying that we can't turn him loose. He'd report us at once to some kind of outback Nazi law enforcement agency and they'll run us down like dogs. Jesus, did I say that? Or just think it? Was I talking? Did they hear me?


AFTER


WHAT'S MY NAME?!?